Federal Premium Low Recoil Ammo

Today I’m writing a review on my experience with the Federal Premium Ammunition Low Recoil Personal Defense Ammo.

I picked up a few boxes of these rounds in both .45 and 9mm, as this is the caliber I typically carry.

Federal claims the personal defense (hollow point to prevent unnecessary bullet travel) low recoil rounds img_4910“Significantly reduces recoil.” I can’t confirm whether recoil was indeed reduced significantly. I shot regular FMJ rounds of the same caliber, out of the same gun, back to back, and didn’t notice a ‘significant’ reduction in recoil.

I did notice it was slightly less recoil, but nothing I would boast about. Then again, my sample size was relatively small, as I only shot about 10 rounds in both .45 and 9mm.

I had a buddy shoot the ammo as well and he didn’t notice a reduced recoil.

Overall, the main reason I purchased this ammo was to use as carry ammo and for that purpose I think it’s more than adequate.

Ammo used:

  • Federal Ammo 9mm, .45 ACP

Shot on:

  • iPhone 6
  • Nikon P7000
  • Edited on iMovie

What about you, what is YOUR Carry Ammo? I’d love to interact with you so please comment below and let me know what YOU carry and whether you’ve had experience with these rounds.

Be sure to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications whenever I post new reviews, tips, hacks and more!

Please leave me a note!

